holidaze

Year after year it gets more and more difficult to get into the “holiday spirit.” I don’t know if it’s the beautiful San Diego weather or the merciless onslaught of all things Christmas 6-8 weeks before it. Probably a combination of the two.

I mentioned that my family isn’t super traditional for Thanksgiving, and I would say that that slides into Christmas a bit as well. Since Sandy & I have become grown-ass women (hee!), there aren’t any (or many) family trips to see aunts and uncles. Dad’s siblings usually come to La Mirada for a day (has become Christmas eve, usually), so the actual day is pretty mellow with me and my folks, sometimes Han, sometimes Sandy and her family.

She alternates between her house, her in-laws, and our folks. This year, I think it’s the in-laws’ turn.

One year, we went to Florida & Georgia to spend it with Han’s mom and her parents and that whole side of his family. That was a fun time. Florida in December was pretty nice. So was Georgia. I was glad we went because that was the last time we saw his grandpa, Papa Herman (we share the same birthday). I think he died the following year.

I get three paid days off. Christmas eve and day are standard paid holidays, and then my company gives the “gift of time” in lieu of a big holiday party, which I prefer, so we also get the 23rd off. I’ve decided to ask to take Monday and Tuesday of that week off as well. I think Han and I will go see the new Star Wars one of those days. The early show. 🙂

Sounds like tomorrow night we’re going to see D in a musical at her church. It’s a ‘twist’ on “A Christmas Carol” called “Twisted” if I have that right. Should be good!

One of the better things about this time of year is watching all the great movies that celebrate the holiday. I’ve already watched “Elf,” though that might require another viewing. Also on my holiday watch list is “Scrooged,” “Love Actually,” “Christmas Vacation,” and “The Holiday” among others. (Maybe throw in “A Christmas Story,” “The Santa Clause,” “Miracle on 34th Street,” “White Christmas”…). By the way, Han and I tried watching “Bad Santa” because neither of us had ever seen it, and we couldn’t get through it. I just wasn’t in the mood for that kind of story.

This post has been brought to you by Lizzie’s Christmas thoughts.

One Comment Add yours

  1. mama says:

    I like this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

