Happy 50th, Sandy!

My sister turned 50 yesterday. Man, that does not mean what it used to. When I was growing up, 50 seemed far away. It was barely a number I registered except to know it was old. But that’s so not how it is. My sister is a vibrant, fun, and amazing person. She loves her family and is proud of them.

I was lucky enough to be able to spend a week with her the last week of May, and although we were busy, we still had time to just hang. I swear, I wish we had been as close as we are now for much longer. I mean, I think we’ve almost always had a good relationship. But being 5 years apart when you’re in junior high/high school is different than when you’re grown-ass women. When I was in high school, she was done with college, living in another state and doing her thing. Really, it’s kind of amazing that we’ve been able to cultivate this relationship that I treasure over the distance.

But it’s happened, through letter-writing, phone calls, and visits. Through mini-vacations and baseball. Through the love of our parents.

I love you, Sandy Sue!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    I like this post the very best of all! Love you little Lizzie!!!

Leave a Reply

