#1 – from the sea to Tibidabo (memories of Barcelona a year later – a series)

It’s hard and easy to believe it’s been a year since Mom, Sandy, & I flew to Barcelona. Since I never wrote about it as of yet, I decided to look at this anniversary as the time to reflect on what we did each day. What follows is basically what I wrote in my journal on those days (although I’ve edited :)), so keep in mind that the tenses might be in the present. I’ll also post some photos (there are so many!)
~~

day-0-departureAt 4:30 am on Sunday, September 13, the journey began. Dad took us to LAX where we then had plenty of time to wait for our flight to Atlanta.

That flight, about 4 hours, seemed a bit long, but yay!, no flight anxiety! When we got to Atlanta, our plane was already boarding. We took the train the length of the airport from A to F to get to our gate. They were waiting for us. Though it was a rush, the good thing was we pretty much left after we were seated. From LA to Atlanta, we were all 3 together. From ATL to BCN, me and Mom were together and Sandy was behind us. We left ATL around 5:40 pm ET, with a 7 1/2 hour flight in front of us. We were in the middle section, but it wasn’t too bad. I watched “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.” We had dinner (pasta) then, for most people, it was sleepy time. Not for Mom. She was fidgety and restless. I had 2 beers and was trying to sleep. Sandy was out. Mom didn’t sleep at all.

We landed about an hour early (7:30 am local time). We got our passports stamped, got our bags, exchanged some money, walked out, and there was Sonia! 🙂 She was so happy. It was awesome [by the way, when the flight from ATL took off, I clapped with giddy excitement]. We hugged and kissed and started chatting in a mix of English and Spanish. Eric was there, too. It was all good.

Eric drove us from the airport to our first AirBnB apartment on Calle Bertran. Oh, and a surprise from Sonia. She brought us individual Cacaolat and each an ensaimada from La Mallorquina in Platja d’Aro. It was absolutely delicious. We ate it on the street corner in front of the apartment as we waited for the host. So very good. It turned out the host’s mom was there the whole time so we finally got inside. It’s a small apartment but will work perfectly for us.

We hung out for a while, working on getting the WiFi (wee-fee) to work aday-1c-roca-y-batllend more chatting. Then around 12:30 pm, we decided to walk around a bit. Turns out this apartment is very near Roca y Batlle so we walked over there and took photos by the door. It was great.

 

From there we decided to have a beer and maybe some tapas. We went to a place Mom remembered called El Rincon. We ordered 5 canas (the n should have the ~ over it), and Eric ordered some food, but I wasn’t prepared for everything that came out – ensaladilla rusa, calamares, boccarones, tortilla de patata, y pa amb tomaquet (Mom – please correct!). Everything was delicious.

day-1d-tapas-at-el-rincon

Eric, Sandy, and I had one more cana each, then Eric & Sonia had to get back to their house. We said goodbye, then, Mom, Sandy & I  walked around a bit more. We went to Farga and a panaderia for some bread. We went to Cortacans for some jamon y queso. Mom also had an orxata at some point. By that time, I was nearly dead on my feet. I’d gotten advice to stay up until it was time for bed, but I couldn’t do it. I took about an hour nap.

When I woke up, Sandy said she needed a Coke, and I said I’d go with her. It was about 5pm. Mom was asleep. There was a market right next door to the apartment, but when we got there, we decided to walk a little bit. We ended up at the park at Putxet. It was gorgeous! The weather was perfect, it was clear, and could see all the city from the sea to Tibidabo. It was an unexpected gift. Sandy & I were so happy.

day-1e-el-putxet

We got our Cokes and some potato chips,  went back ‘home,’ and sat on the terrace. Mom was still asleep. Sandy & I chatted and read. We woke Mom at 7 pm, and a bit later we talked about our plans for the next day. We made bocadillos de jamon serrano y havarti for dinner. It’s been a fantastic day, and it’s only the first one!

2 thoughts on “#1 – from the sea to Tibidabo (memories of Barcelona a year later – a series)

Leave a Reply

