NPM – 13 of 30

upon waking
I discovered
the cat had
knocked over
its litter box

after a day of work
where I barely
came up for air

I made my way
to the harbor
where I met
a friend who
was in from
out of town

we walked
to a restaurant
and met another
friend

we talked a lot
caught up on
each others’ lives
the way friends
do when they
love deep and
miles don’t mean
anything

difficult usually
a trio of friends
I’ve had my share
of heartbreak
with others
but these two
are different

maybe it’s
because we’re
older now

maybe it’s
because we
know ourselves
better now

maybe it’s
because
we found
each other

3 Comments Add yours

  1. alonzo wann says:

    I envy the friendship you share with theses ladies.

  2. Sandy says:

    It’s the best thing when you can pick up a conversation with someone you haven’t seen for awhile like you just talked to them yesterday.

  3. Adam says:

    Love it!!!! So glad to look you up and stumble upon this blog…

Leave a Reply

