Happy birthday to my big sister!

I just got off the phone with my sister. Today’s her 49th birthday! I realized earlier today that this will be the last time we’re both in our forties. It doesn’t mean anything, just an observation.

I love how she & I can easily fall into conversation. We don’t live close to each other, but we text or call, even sometimes write!, each other often enough that I feel like I still know her. Does that make sense? I know people at work or friends who rarely speak to their siblings or parents, or if they do, it’s all very surface and nothing that shows that there’s love there. I find that a bit sad. I have found for others, and I think I’m in this group, that the older I get, the more I rely on the relationships with my family. I mean they have known me from the start!

We talked about movies, work, travel, kids; we covered a lot! She’ll be going to Hawaii for the first time next week with her husband, son, and in-laws. I can’t wait to hear about her adventures and see all the photos she’ll take. She’s got a great eye for photography, and she’s become quite the world traveler. I’m so happy for her adventures!

Happy birthday, my dear sister, and thank you for being my friend.

Sunset Beach - December 2014
Sunset Beach – December 2014

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sandy says:

    Thanks Lizzie! Love you too ❤

  2. mama says:

    Love you both 🙂

Leave a comment